Vaccine Phases

Subject to Change by PA Department of Health

Currently, individuals identified in Phase 1A are eligible to receive vaccinations. The Commonwealth’s Vaccination Plan identifies the following vaccination phases (note that these are subject to change by DOH):

Phase 1:

Phase 1A:

    1. Healthcare personnel
    2. Emergency Medical Services first responders
    3. Residents and staff of congregate care settings
    4. People ages 65 and older
    5. People aged 16-64 with high risk conditions causing increased risk for severe disease

Phase 1B:

    1. People in congregate settings not otherwise specified as long-term care facilities, and persons receiving home and community-based services
    2. First responders
    3. Correctional officers and other workers serving people in congregate care settings not included in Phase 1A  
    4. Food and agricultural workers
    5. U.S. Postal Service workers
    6. Manufacturing workers  
    7. Grocery store workers  
    8. Education workers 
    9. Clergy and other essential support for houses of worship 
    10. Public transit workers
    11. Individuals caring for children or adults in early childhood and adult day programs


Phase 1C:

    1. Essential workers in these sectors:
      1. Transportation and logistics
      2. Water and wastewater
      3. Food service
      4. Housing construction
      5. Finance, including bank tellers
      6. Information technology
      7. Communications
      8. Energy, including nuclear reactors
      9. Legal services
      10. Federal, state, county and local government workers, including county election workers, elected officials and members of the judiciary and their staff
      11. Media
      12. Public safety
      13. Public health workers


Phase 2: All individuals not previously covered who are 16 and older and do not have a contraindication to the vaccine (note that at this time, only the Pfizer-BioNTech vaccine is approved for those aged 16 and 17).