As the coronavirus epidemic continues, we are taking steps to keep the public safe and ensure vital services continue. Please click here for more information or go to


Dauphin County Commissioners  Mike Pries, Chad Saylor, and George P. Hartwick, III are essentially the CEOs of the county, with authority over budgets and finance, debts, contracts, appointment of department heads and staff in departments that report directly to the board, as well as appointments to the many authorities, commissions and boards. Commissioners are elected to four-year terms.

The Commissioners work as a team with the elected county row officers as well as the courts, law enforcement and other first responders to ensure the safety of our community. The Commissioners are responsible for emergency preparedness as well as overseeing the Dauphin County Prison.

Because of the size and complexity of Dauphin County government, the three Commissioners have oversite responsibility for different departments and services. When action is needed, the oversite commissioner brings the issue to the board for consideration.

In recent years, the Commissioners have lead Pennsylvania’s 67 counties in developing new ways to promote economic development, help municipalities attack blight and fix aging bridges and infrastructure, and preserve open space – all without putting an additional burden on taxpayers.

How to contact the Dauphin County Commissioners Office:
Phone:  717-780-6300
Mail:      2 S. Second Street, 4th Floor
                  Harrisburg, PA 17101
Click here for information about the board’s public meetings.

Meet the Commissioners

Board Chairman Mike Pries


Mike has deep roots in the community and was first appointed to the board in 2010, including serving as Chairman of the Derry Township Board of Supervisors. He oversees the Prison, Economic Development, Voter Registration, Veterans Affairs, and Public Safety Departments, among others. Click here to learn more about Mike Pries.

Photo of Chad Saylor

    Board Vice Chairman Chad Saylor

Mr. Chad Saylor was appointed Commissioner, by a panel of County Judges, to fill the vacancy of Jeff Haste. Mr. Saylor was sworn in on 6/9/21.

hartwick      Board Secretary George P. Hartwick, III


George was first elected to the board in 2004. At 24, he was elected as Steelton’s mayor, becoming the youngest mayor ever elected in Pennsylvania. George oversees Human Services, which includes Children and Youth, the Area Agency on Aging, Drug and Alcohol and Mental Health/Intellectual Disabilities. Click here to learn more about George P. Hartwick, III.